ElectricAid’s AGM – a big success, and a generational change

ElectricAid’s 2014 AGM was held in the ESB Conference Centre on Tuesday, 25th August. We reviewed a tough but successful year, and set a course for renewed growth in 2015 and 2016. The meeting was encouragingly-well attended; our members are genuinely interested in the fortunes of their charity.

The major outcome of the AGM was a generational shift in the management of ElectricAid. Our Chair for the last 5 years, John Kelly, stepped down, although John remains on the Committee. Tina Pittock of the SIRO Joint Venture, is our new leader. Our new Vice-Chair is Eadaoin Smith of ESB Telecoms. Deirdre Arthur has stepped down as Treasurer and from the Committee; our new Treasurer is Alison O’Keeffe of BSC Finance. Three other formidable Committee members, of long and distinguished service – Des Doherty, Mick O’Connor and Dave Carey – have also departed. We welcomed new Committee members in Seán Finnegan (Networks), Mark Breen (BSC), and Paul Smith (ex-EirGrid). The new Committee is younger, and contains more serving staff.

Sincere thanks to our departing friends, and an equally sincere welcome to our new and returning Officers, Trustees, and Committee members